ZABBIX Forums  
  #1  
Old 07-11-2011, 23:23
RuudH RuudH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default SNMP get from HP Switch

Hi,

I would like to query our HP Switch by using SNMP, but Zabbix does not give back any data.
On the command prompt I can do a snmpwalk against the switch without any problems as well as I can read the device from with other tools.

Anyone has an idea what I've done wrong with the item configuration ?
(see attachment picture)
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-11-2011, 10:39
shukalo83 shukalo83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Seems to me that your snmp oid is not correct.
This would be the way to go for cisco switch

1.3.6.1.2.1.2.2.1.10.10147

I see that your trying to put last two digits to KEY field. This field is irrelevant.

My advice, put the full snmp oid in place and copy that in KEY field as a sort of reminder. For me it's easier like that.

Try that and let me know how was it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-11-2011, 11:51
Zaniwoop Zaniwoop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to Zaniwoop
Default

Use 1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1

Drop the last "0".
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-11-2011, 20:48
RuudH RuudH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for your responses. Tried several things based on your comments but still no luck, while I just want to query the System Description

Attached my current setting and the output of my snmpwalk

Is there any log in Zabbix that I can check ?
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2011, 07:25
Zaniwoop Zaniwoop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to Zaniwoop
Default

There is a log /tmp/zabbix_server.log

The level of detail in there will depend on the debug level in the /etc/zabbix/zabbix_server.conf. If you use DebugLevel=4 it will tell give you a lot of information. A LOT!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2011, 08:29
shukalo83 shukalo83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 14
Default

RuudH,

Please put the full OID in place and show me results.

I see in picture above that you omitted ending zero.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:08
Zaniwoop Zaniwoop is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to Zaniwoop
Default

I have created the item, and it works.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-11-2011, 09:44
shukalo83 shukalo83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Glad it worked

You can find the numerical value of oid in numerous ways. We use full oid in place and do not bother too much about key. Maybe this is wrong but it does the job.

So, your full oid would be:
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
snmp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:59.