ZABBIX Forums  

Go Back   ZABBIX Forums > Zabbix Discussions and Feedback > Zabbix Cookbook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #131  
Old 12-04-2012, 17:59
lsulejewski lsulejewski is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,

I can'nt find an agents for my HP Proliant DL165 G7, anyone have this files?
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 15-04-2012, 21:13
Hassan Hassan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dima_dm View Post
See in script zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl
CpuTotal
CpuUsed
I mean the CPU load average no CPU utilization. CpuUsed gives the CPU utilization in percent.
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 16-04-2012, 09:24
dima_dm dima_dm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hassan View Post
I mean the CPU load average no CPU utilization. CpuUsed gives the CPU utilization in percent.
CpuUsed and CpuTotal gives CPU utilization and total in Нz.

Last edited by dima_dm; 16-04-2012 at 09:27.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 30-04-2012, 08:16
davidking davidking is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Default

we are trying to use zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl: we've configured both server and agent timeout to max. 30s, but the status file seems not created successfully under /tmp, the log from agentd says:

egrep: /tmp/vmware_api_x.x.x.x.txt: No such file or directory

and we check there is no such file auto created under /tmp by zabbix. But if we manually run this perl script with user zabbix, the status file created under /tmp no problem at all, and with correct mode.

Now we doubt it's caused by its slow running as when we time it, it's 28s, quite close 30s.

time /etc/zabbix/zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl
real 0m28.214s
user 0m18.322s
sys 0m0.093s

the zabbix server load is around 0.1 and ESXi hosts load is less than 0.1, we test a couple ESXi hosts, all is more than 25s. Is there any way we can tune it? rather than increasing the zabbix server max. timeout to 60s via modifying the source code?
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 01-05-2012, 22:48
duncankennedy duncankennedy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Westwoud, The Netherlands
Posts: 6
Default

I was having the same issues running on a WAN connection. It took about 2 minutes to complete.
For now (in case of the WAN connection) I run a cronjob every 10 minutes to overcome this because changing the timeout larger than 30 seconds will the agent refuse to startup.

*/10 * * * * /etc/zabbix/externalscripts/zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl <IP adres> <pwd> <user> >/dev/null 2>&1

Beware that the scripts are placed within a different directory in the above listing.
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 24-05-2012, 18:47
Kryol Kryol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alain Ganuchaud View Post
Hi,

I began to migrate the zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl to request centrally the ESX hosts via the VCC, please find below the modified script. Some items are not returned, thanks to terminate if you have the ESX knowledge.

The new syntax is now: zabbix_perl_api_vmware_VCC.pl --server <VCC_Name_or_IP> --username <VCC_user> --password <VCC_password> --vihost <ESX_Host_Name_or_IP>

Thanks,
Alain
I increased Statistic Level of vCenter server to 2 and you script works fine. All items are returned.

But I see another problem with requesing ESXi hosts via VCC. Each request is logged on VCC under Task&Events.
So, events table mostly consist of records about such requests logon/logoff(s). And I can miss any another useful information among these records.

Any suggestions
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 25-05-2012, 11:05
edunix edunix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default data of datastore size incorrect

Hi, i implemented ESXi 4.0 Hardware and Software Monitoring VMWare for 7 vmware hosts, on all systems i monitor the datastores, which are mounted by nfs.
On some vmware hosts disk space sizes are not correct:
[root@nlyehvitrdlx005 zabbix]# grep Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3 /tmp/vmware_api_*.txt
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh011.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 154547163136
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh012.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 159808987136
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh013.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 190126780416
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh020.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 189585858560
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh021.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 154592292864
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh022.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 190126768128
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh023.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 164437491712

Any suggestions?

Kind regards, Edunix.
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 25-05-2012, 15:43
dima_dm dima_dm is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edunix View Post
Hi, i implemented ESXi 4.0 Hardware and Software Monitoring VMWare for 7 vmware hosts, on all systems i monitor the datastores, which are mounted by nfs.
On some vmware hosts disk space sizes are not correct:
[root@nlyehvitrdlx005 zabbix]# grep Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3 /tmp/vmware_api_*.txt
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh011.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 154547163136
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh012.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 159808987136
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh013.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 190126780416
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh020.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 189585858560
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh021.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 154592292864
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh022.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 190126768128
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh023.txt:Volume.Capacity_DS-notorious-3: 164437491712

Any suggestions?

Kind regards, Edunix.
Each disc has an unique ID. Check, that you see same disk on different ESXi
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 29-05-2012, 10:52
edunix edunix is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default monitoring nfs mounted datastores

Quote:
Originally Posted by dima_dm View Post
Each disc has an unique ID. Check, that you see same disk on different ESXi
Hi Dima, thanks for your reply.
Did check if it is the same disk
Just stating 2 of the 7 systems below, nlyehvitrdvh011. displays correct value, others do not.
~ # hostname
nlyehvitrdvh011.ddns.htc.nl.philips.com
nfs 1.6T 725.9G 874.1G 45% /vmfs/volumes/012b57ad-e99fa8ce
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh011.txt:Volume.Capacity_Bac kup2: 1717986918400
~ # hostname
nlyehvitrdvh021.htc.nl.philips.com
nfs 1.6T 725.9G 874.1G 45% /vmfs/volumes/012b57ad-e99fa8ce
/tmp/vmware_api_nlyehvitrdvh021.txt:Volume.Capacity_Bac kup2: 2147483648000

If you want more info, please let me know!

Kind regards,
edunix
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 29-05-2012, 19:23
IT_Architect IT_Architect is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Situation: This is on an ESXi installation that has been monitoring hosts for a long time. I just can't get ESXi the monitoring to work. Everything else works perfectly.

Setup:
1. When I ssh in, I can call zabbix_perl_api_vmware.pl host password username manually and it works perfectly! (Requires 16 seconds.)

2. Pasted in the API portion into the zabbix_agentd.conf on the server.

3. I imported the template into Zabbix. I removed all of the WBEM items and then when application showed 0, I deleted the WBEM application.

4. I made a new host
a. IP 127.0.0.1
b. Added the template
c. Added the three macros

Problem:
1. I've uploaded a single image that shows the host setup, and the host browse with the ZBX_TCP_READ () failed (54) connection reset by peer. The only data it brings in is icmpping, and that is always successful
2. There are no errors in the server or agent logs on the server

Other:
- Zabbix 1.8.13
- Using ESXi 40 and the 4.0 version of the template

I've gone over the instructions many times. I've read this thread a couple times. I've search and found a couple of instances of people having the same problem. I've restarted the server and agent several times. I've Googled for it. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. I tried the 5 version of the API and your newest template. It's the same.

Thanks!
Attached Images
 

Last edited by IT_Architect; 30-05-2012 at 06:44.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.