ZABBIX Forums  
  #1  
Old 11-12-2008, 22:27
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default SNMP Timeout errors

I have configured an SNMP item to check a cisco switch. The data does not populate, and it gives the error that it times out connecting to the host. I can snmpwalk or snmpget this host with this FQDN from the zabbix server without issue.

15575:20081211:151214 In get_value(key:.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.896)
15575:20081211:151214 In get_value_snmp(key:.1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.896, oid:.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0)
15575:20081211:151214 Standard processing
15575:20081211:151214 In snmp_normalize(oid:.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0)
15575:20081211:151214 End of snmp_normalize(result:.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0)
15575:20081211:151214 In get_snmp(oid:.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0)
15575:20081211:151214 SNMP [mycom@myswitch.domain.com:161:161]
15575:20081211:151214 OID [.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0]
15575:20081211:151214 In get_value_SNMP() 0.2
15575:20081211:151214 In get_value_SNMP() 0.3
... snip ...
15575:20081211:151220 In get_value_SNMP() 0.4
15575:20081211:151220 In get_value_SNMP() 1
15575:20081211:151220 Timeout while connecting to [myswitch.gxt.com:161]

Output from snmpwalk

]# snmpwalk -v2c -On -c mycom myswitch.domain.com system
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.1.0 = STRING: Cisco IOS Software, s72033_rp Software (s72033_rp-IPSERVICESK9_WAN-VM), Version 12.2(33)SXH2a, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)
Technical Support: http://www.cisco.com/techsupport
Copyright (c) 1986-2008 by Cisco Systems, Inc.
Compiled Fri 25-Apr-08 20:02 by pro
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0 = OID: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.896
.1.3.6.1.2.1.1.3.0 = Timeticks: (925885317) 107 days, 3:54:13.17


The configuration of my Item

Description: SNMP Test
Type: (tried both SNMPv1 and SNMPv2 agent)
SNMP community: mycom
SNMP OID: .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0
SNMP port: 161
Key: .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.896
Type of information: (tried numeric, text, and character)
Status: Active


Let me know if you need any more information.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-2008, 05:23
MrKen MrKen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Posts: 652
Default

Hello Zibbax,

I think you have the 'key' wrong.
Try key = sysObjectID.0

which will probably output this: SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.1.896

On the other hand, what happens when you snmpwalk .1.3.6.1.4.1.9.1.896
Do you get a useful value?

MrKen
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-2008, 15:23
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

I get:

SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.1.0 = No Such Object available on this agent at this OID


Perhaps I am configuring this wrongly.

Should the OID be the OID of the key, and the key be the name of the OID?

Wouldn't this be a little redundant?

#snmpwalk -v2c -c mycom myswitch.domain.com .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0
SNMPv2-MIB::sysObjectID.0 = OID: SNMPv2-SMI::enterprises.9.1.896


I currently have it with the .1.3.6.1.2.1.1.2.0 OID, however the error I am getting is an unable to connect to the host. I'll try setting the Key to sysObjectID.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-2008, 15:31
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

That didn't help with the timeout.

18775:20081212:083034 Timeout while connecting to [myswitch.mydomain.com:161]
18775:20081212:083034 Query [update hosts set error='Timeout while connecting to [myswitch.mydomain.com:161]',disable_until=1229092294 where hostid=100100000010057]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-12-2008, 11:04
MrKen MrKen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Posts: 652
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zibbax View Post
Should the OID be the OID of the key, and the key be the name of the OID?
You should be able to snmpwalk the OID and snmpwalk the key and get the same result.

Are you sure you want to monitor this? http://support.ipmonitor.com/mibs_by....4.1.9.1.896#h

Sorry, but unfortunately this doesn't help with your timeout problem.

MrKen
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-12-2008, 15:49
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

I'm not interested in monitoring that, it's just the first OID. Once I get it to work I can do all the custom triggers, however the problem isn't being able to snmpwalk or snmpget (as user zabbix on the zabbix server), but having zabbix itself get it and not say "Hey, suckah, I can't connect".
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-12-2008, 07:27
MrKen MrKen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Posts: 652
Default

Frustrating isn't it?

Couple of things you need to check:
1. Is snmp enabled on the switch? There should be something like this in the switch config
snmp-server community <your.community.name> RO

and possibly

snmp-server host <ip.of.zabbix-server> version 2c <your.community.name> udp-port 161

2. Is the snmp community name correct?


Q. Why bother trying to set up something that's not worth monitoring? The OID that you're using is, at best, going to return something like 'Cisco Product'. Why not try snmpwalk ifInOctets and get some real values that you might be able to use?

Check out this post by me to see how I set up monitoring of In/Out Octets: http://www.zabbix.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11313


Good luck, I hope you get this working soon.

MrKen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-12-2008, 16:47
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

I want to see snmp work with zabbix.

As I pasted above, the switch has to be working because I can get the snmp data from the switch from the zabbix server from the command line with both snmpwalk and snmpget

This isn't an issue of gathering relevant data, but being able to gather any data.

This host is currently monitored by Cacti, so SNMP is working just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15-12-2008, 07:55
MrKen MrKen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Posts: 652
Default

I know this is probably a stupid question but it's worth checking.

In your original ./configure of Zabbix, did you include "--with-net-snmp"?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-12-2008, 16:19
zibbax zibbax is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Default

That was included in the compile string.
zabbix_server. ZABBIX 1.6.
30798:20081219:091816 **** Enabled features ****
30798:20081219:091816 SNMP monitoring: YES
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:53.