ZABBIX Forums  
Old 16-02-2012, 10:34

Default Initial support for JMX Operations in Java Proxy

Hi Guys -
Our development team implemented some JMX operations in our application which return all types of statistics - (We didn't use MBean Attributes so that the app only generates the stats when requested.)
Now, I'm not a java programmer, but we needed to support the polling of these JMX operations, so I started hacking.

The following patch on zabbix_java 1.9.9 (should also apply to 1.9.8) adds that support. It works for me, but I have NOT tested this too deeply. For example, I don't know what will happen if the key is neither an existing Attribute or Operation. Also, Operations have only been tested with zero or one parameters. More than that probably won't work.
This code needs work, but it's a start.

Code:
--- JMXItemChecker.java.orig    2012-02-16 11:22:23.103907700 +0200
+++ JMXItemChecker.java 2012-02-16 11:22:48.930242800 +0200
@@ -48,6 +48,12 @@
        private String username;
        private String password;

+       private Object value;
+       private String operationName;
+       private String[]  operationSplit;
+       private String[]  operationParameters;
+       private String[] operationSignature;
+
        public JMXItemChecker(JSONObject request) throws ZabbixException
        {
                super(request);
@@ -134,7 +140,52 @@
                                attributeName = attributeName.substring(0, dot);
                        }

-                       return getPrimitiveAttributeValue(mbsc.getAttribute(objectName, attributeName), subAttributeNames);
+                         /**
+                          * The concept here is to attempt to deal with JMX Operations, not just Attributes.
+                          * The following solution was good for us: Attempt to poll as an Attribute. If we fail, attempt as an operation.
+                          * CURRENTLY, ONLY SUPPORTS PASSING _ONE_  _STRING_ PARAMETER TO AN OPERATION.