ZABBIX Forums  
  #1  
Old 10-02-2007, 22:52
dmz dmz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 26
Send a message via ICQ to dmz Send a message via AIM to dmz Send a message via MSN to dmz Send a message via Yahoo to dmz
Default Disable alerts while working on server

Is there any way to disable alerts for specific items for a specific time period without disabling the server manually?

I have to upgrade servers and services on a regular basis but keep getting alerts that the server is down when working on it.

It would be nice to have some way to integrate into my change management software so zabbix knows that there is work happening on the server and not send alerts.

Any thoughts?
David
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2007, 18:24
pdwalker pdwalker is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 158
Default

You could drive the operational status of the zabbix triggers externally, via curl.

It would then be a matter of scripting the functionality you need and integrating it via your change management system.

- Paul
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-02-2007, 03:51
James Wells James Wells is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Everett, Wa. USA
Posts: 637
Default

Greetings,

There are a number of ways to do this, but one of the easiest is to add a group requirement to your alerts, for example, we have an active group and all hosts are in this group when they are under monitoring. This group is a requirement for the alerts, meaning no alert will be generated for a trigger unless the host is in this group. When we need to take one down for maintenance, we simply move the host out of the active group. The Zabbix server continues to monitor the host, triggers continue to be set, but no alerts are thrown. BTW, this is also a good way to do it from the SLA perspective as the triggers will still affect your SLA numbers, which maintenance should do.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-02-2007, 06:57
bbrendon bbrendon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 704
Default

Brilliant!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14-02-2007, 15:30
gpostaire gpostaire is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks a good idea.

I was planning to use a userparameter set with a script. Every trigger rely on the value of the userparameter. So if you put the userparameter et 0, no trigger is activated.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:04.