ZABBIX Forums  

Go Back   ZABBIX Forums > Zabbix Discussions and Feedback > Zabbix Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-12-2017, 08:28
Alan Lim Alan Lim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Default Monitor servers on another subnet with blocked by firewall

I have a Zabbix running on 3.2 and have no issued monitoring servers on the same subnet called subnet A. Zabbix agent has been deployed to all these servers.
I wanted to monitor subnet B servers , unfortunately, subnet A was blocked 10051 to subnet B. Subnet B can telnet 10050 to Zabbix server.
I did some findings and the solution is to use active check on subnet B.
But my subnet A is using passive check.
Can passive and active check coexist? If not, how about move zabbix to subnet B and change IP address. Any impact on DB after changing IP address?

Thank you

Last edited by Alan Lim; 05-12-2017 at 09:30.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2017, 16:18
rv_overseer rv_overseer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Hi Alan,
  1. Which is more important: Subnet A or Subnet B?
  2. The items being monitored can only be active or passive. It cannot be both. However, you can have a combination of active and passive items being monitored.
  3. Consider using a Zabbix Proxy into Subnet B
  4. You can move Zabbix to another IP address but this depends on which database you're using. MySQL and Postgres are ok with changing IP address.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-12-2017, 05:05
Alan Lim Alan Lim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Hi RV,

Both Subnet A and B are important. Thank you for your brilliant suggestion of installing Zabbix proxy on subnet B.

I have a question about installing Zabbix proxy;
According to Zabbix document, the installation command for Zabbix proxy is "apt-get install zabbix-proxy-mysql". (ubuntu base)
Just wondering should I install Frontend-php? If not, how should I mange it without web mgmt. If yes, then what is the installation command like?
Tried to google but couldn't find any good step by step guide on how to install zabbix proxy


Thank you

Last edited by Alan Lim; 07-12-2017 at 07:04.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-12-2017, 11:09
rv_overseer rv_overseer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Hi Alan,

I'm currently also exploring Zabbix Proxy. I also have to deal with firewalls issues with my IT.

However, I downloaded the Zabbix Proxy package from https://www.zabbix.com/download for my Linux distro

I believe, there is no web frontend for proxies. And that's as far as I got.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2017, 11:15
kloczek kloczek is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK/London
Posts: 872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Lim View Post
But my subnet A is using passive check.
Can passive and active check coexist? If not, how about move zabbix to subnet B and change IP address. Any impact on DB after changing IP address?
Active proxy in subnet B and all hosts in subnet B still can be monitored using passive checks over proxy in B.

PS. BTW sooner or later if number of monitored items will be growing you will be forced to switch to active monitoring as passive one does not scale.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-12-2017, 11:20
rv_overseer rv_overseer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks kloczek
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-12-2017, 06:19
Alan Lim Alan Lim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kloczek View Post
Active proxy in subnet B and all hosts in subnet B still can be monitored using passive checks over proxy in B.

PS. BTW sooner or later if number of monitored items will be growing you will be forced to switch to active monitoring as passive one does not scale.
Thank you Kloczek.
How difficult to change from passive to active?
So far, my understanding is to add a parameter "StartAgents=0" in zabbix_agentd.conf.
Do I miss anything in zabbix_agentd.conf?
How should I change from passive to active in Zabbix server?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-12-2017, 06:25
Alan Lim Alan Lim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Default

I have found this forum
https://www.zabbix.com/forum/showthread.php?t=50045.

Any additional suggestion?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-12-2017, 09:43
rv_overseer rv_overseer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 14
Default

Alan,

There are 3 places where you change for active monitoring.

1. The items/keys that you monitoring, change it to active
2. The zabbix_agent conf file, set ServerActive=
3. Also in zabbix_proxy (can set the proxy into active mode like kloczek said)

Hope this gets you going.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-12-2017, 12:18
Alan Lim Alan Lim is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Default

Hi RV,

Initially, because of the firewall blocking, caused Zabbix server can't talk via port 10050 to zabbix agent on other subnets. But no firewall blocking for Zabbix agent to Zabbix server. Thus decide to deploy a zabbix proxy on agent subnet.
But later realized that the active agent could solve the firewall issue as the active agent is communicating to zabbix server instead.

Still struggling how to let zabbix server monitor active agent. I have added the below to zabbix_agentd.conf
ServerActive=172.10.10.10
Hostname=Win2012-UAT (agent's computer name)
StartAgents=0
I have created a new Zabbix Active agent template (Active Agent.png) and added active agent host to this template. Not sure what to input the IP and I just put 0.0.0.0 and port is 10050 at the host configuration.
Please look at the zabbix error.jog which shows the agent failed to communicate.
Is there anything that I miss or mistake?

Going to get crazy for these.
Thank you
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:09.