Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Zabbix Proxy Performance

Originally posted by MarkusL View Post
    Our goal is monitoring small customer networks. We are working with one zabbix-proxy per customer.

At the moment we are migrating with a complete new installation our old 1.6.5-zabbix-server/proxies to a fresh and basic redesigned 1.8.4-zabbix-server/proxy-environtment.

We really love the model server <-> proxy in zabbix. Btw, all proxies are configured to store config for 48h in case of longer internet-downtimes at us or customer. In this case, proxies store all collected data in local db and deliver at reconnecting. With little tricks in trigger-dep. we only get one alert; no nodata or other things popping up. GREAT!

P.S.: very interesting thread! I´m really interested to hear from other people working with zabbix-proxies.
    MarkusL, I'm still learning about the behaviours and limits of Zabbix Proxy.

We're using virtual machines (VMWare and Xen) to provide 10 proxies, each one with 4 CPU Cores and 4GB RAM. But it's not using more than 1GB RAM and CPU usage never hits 20%.

The proxies are separated by function:
    2x Trappers (for integration w/ other internal systems w/o agent or snmp)
    2x SNMP checks (eg. Cisco switches)
    6x Agent (mixed agent+icmp+smnp)

So I config the start pollers corresponding with your main function.

I'm using SQLite and collected data still stored locally for 24 hours.

The stats show me the limit for my proxies around 500vps. Above this value we could see many late checks (queue).

we have a small environment..

Hosts: 28
    Items: 3338
    Trigger: 303
    vps: 52

DB: PostgreSQL (nobody knows the future about mysql, because Oracle)

Server: HP ProLiant G4 DL380, 3,4GHz Xeon, 1GB-RAM
    Debian-User

Sorry for my bad english

Comment

Originally posted by xsbr View Post
      The stats show me the limit for my proxies around 500vps. Above this value we could see many late checks (queue).