Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Optimal DB Engine(s) for Zabbix

Hi,
    Given that zabbix stores time series data has anyone looked into other types of (non relational) database engines? In particular I have in mind column store engines such as that provided by infobright for use with mysql(http://www.infobright.com) which seem better suited to handling this type of data and scale accordingly.

I'd be interested in hearing people's comments on this approach. It appeals to me, but not being a DBA I am not fully conversant with the issues involved. Would the nature of the underlying engine be transparent to zabbix and its schema? Or would it be a big job to integrate the two?

I've not seen any previous discussion on this topic here and my suspicion is that significant backend performance improvements might be achievable by going down this route.

Regards,
    David

Let me comment on this. Instead on focusing on a specific database engine, we plan to introduce an API for storage of historical data, so one can use whatever storage engine he/she wants. Adding a new engines should be just a matter of writing a 100-1000 lines of C code.

I'd love to have horizontal scaling here. It means that there must be support of alternative engines designed to scale. No promises, but it's highly likely that support of Cassandra will be implemented first.
    Alexei Vladishev
    Creator of Zabbix, Product manager
    New York | Tokyo | Riga
    My Twitter

Comment

Any ideas/thoughts when the generic historical API will be ready? This is rather important for us since we monitor close to 10k items and historical data is important for us

Comment

If anyone is interested in this please join in the IRC room so we can plan this module/patch.

Comment

You're talking about #zabbix on freenode right?

Comment

Originally posted by Yello View Post
            You're talking about #zabbix on freenode right?