Ad Widget

Collapse

How do you call/execute a UserParameter key from Server, in an 'Action->Operation'?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do you call/execute a UserParameter key from Server, in an 'Action->Operation'?

Hi all,

Zabbix v 3.4; the 'Host' is a Windows machine (Server 2012 R2).

I'm new to the Zabbix monitoring and responding world, and I think I have made some good progress so far. I have a Zabbix_server and an Agent on a Host that I'm monitoring. I have configured UserParameters on the Agent and defined some custom keys. These keys simply trigger scripts on the Host/Agent machine. (These are used as hooks to allow the Server to restart processes on the Host when it detects that the processes have stopped working.)

I've run into a small problem - How do you get a Server 'Action' to perform a custom UserParameter on the Host, instead of running a Remote Command? (I suppose that I could just rewrite it as an actual Remote command...RemoteCommands are enabled on the Agent. But I have already got it set up and running via a UserParameter, so I'd like to just reuse that if I can.)

The configuration for the Action->Operation just gives you 'Send Message' or "Remote Command". I have configured a UserParameter on the Host/Agent to run the command that I want it to run:
    Code:
    UserParameter=custom.restartPE,c:\Zabbix\scripts\restart_pe.bat
    When I call that key using Zabbix_get from a different remote machine (i.e. not from the Zabbix_server, and not the Host), it successfully performs the command:
    Code:
    ./zabbix_get -s host.com -p ####  -k custom.restartPE
    So I want my Server Action to do the same thing - just query/call the Host Agent UserParameter/Key, to trigger that same command.