Zabbix Documentation 2.4

2.23.04.04.2 (current)In development:4.4 (devel)Unsupported:1.82.02.43.23.4

User Tools

Site Tools


Sidebar

manual:web_interface:frontend_sections:configuration:actions

5 Actions

Overview

In the Configuration → Actions section users can configure and maintain actions.

A listing of existing actions with their details is displayed. The actions displayed are actions assigned to the selected event source (triggers, discovery, auto-registration).

To view actions assigned to a different event source, change the source from the dropdown to the right in the Actions bar.

For users without Super-admin rights actions are displayed according to permission settings. That means in some cases a user without Super-admin rights isn’t able to view the complete action list because of certain permission restrictions. An action is displayed to the user without Super-admin rights if the following conditions are fulfilled:

  • The user has read-write access to all selected elements in the new condition (host, host group, trigger, etc.);
  • The user is a member of all the user groups notifications are sent to. Otherwise this user will not be able to view this action.

Displayed data:

ColumnDescription
Name Name of the action. Clicking on the action name opens the action configuration form.
Conditions Action conditions are displayed.
Operations Action operations are displayed.
Since Zabbix 2.2, the operation list also displays the media type (e-mail, SMS, Jabber, etc) used for notification as well as the name and surname (in parentheses after the alias) of a notification recipient.
Status Action status is displayed - Enabled or Disabled.
By clicking on the status you can change it.
If an action is disabled during an escalation in progress (like a message being sent), the message in progress will be sent and then one more message on the escalation will be sent. The follow-up message will have the following text at the beginning of the message body: NOTE: Escalation cancelled: action '<Action name>' disabled. This way the recipient is informed that the escalation is cancelled and no more steps will be executed.

To configure a new action, click on the Create action button in the top right-hand corner.

Mass editing options

A dropdown below the list offers some mass-editing options:

  • Enable selected - change the action status to Enabled
  • Disable selected - change the action status to Disabled
  • Delete selected - delete the actions

To use these options, mark the check-boxes before the respective actions, then select the required option and click on “Go”.