Sidebar

manual:config:users_and_usergroups:permissions

2 Permissions

Overview

You can differentiate user permissions in Zabbix by defining the respective user role. Then the unprivileged users need to be included in user groups that have access to host group data.

User role

The user role defines which parts of UI, which API methods, and which actions are available to the user. The following roles are pre-defined in Zabbix:

User typeDescription
Guest role The user has access to the Monitoring, Inventory, and Reports menu sections, but without the rights to perform any actions.
User role The user has access to the Monitoring, Inventory, and Reports menu sections. The user has no access to any resources by default. Any permissions to host groups must be explicitly assigned.
Admin role The user has access to the Monitoring, Inventory, Reports and Configuration menu sections. The user has no access to any host groups by default. Any permissions to host groups must be explicitly given.
Super Admin role The user has access to all menu sections. The user has a read-write access to all host groups. Permissions cannot be revoked by denying access to specific host groups.

User roles are configured in the Administration→User roles section. Super Admins can modify or delete pre-defined roles and create more roles with custom sets of permissions.

To assign a role to the user, go to the Permissions tab in the user configuration form, locate the Role field and select a role. Once a role is selected a list of associated permissions will be displayed below.

Permissions to host groups

Access to any host data in Zabbix are granted to user groups on the host group level only.

That means that an individual user cannot be directly granted access to a host (or host group). It can only be granted access to a host by being part of a user group that is granted access to the host group that contains the host.